The Forestry Forum is sponsored in part by:


Forestry Forum
Sponsored by:


TimberKing Sawmills



Toll Free 1-800-582-0470

LogRite Tools



Norwood Industries Inc.


Sawmill & Woodlot Magazine



Your source for Portable Sawmills, Edgers, Resaws, Sharpeners, Setters, Bandsaw Blades and Sawmill Parts

EZ Boardwalk Sawmills. More Saw For Less Money!

STIHLDealers.com sponsored by Northeast STIHL


Woodland Sawmills

Peterson Swingmills

 KASCO SharpTech WoodMaxx Blades

Turbosawmill

Sawmill Exchange

BRUTE FORCE Authorized Dealer

Woodshax Outdoor Vending Solutions

FARMA


Council Tool

Baker Products

ECHO-Bearcat

Arborwear



Author Topic: 3 Phase rotary converter  (Read 1902 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kbeitz

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 6959
  • Age: 65
  • Location: Millville, Pa.
  • Gender: Male
  • Never enough time...
    • Share Post
    • My Hobbies
3 Phase rotary converter
« on: April 06, 2018, 01:00:13 PM »
I just made my first balanced 3 phase 1Hp. rotary converter today. Works great. I'm happy. Next step is a bigger one. It took some head scratchen to get the wiring right but it worked the first time.





Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

Offline Kbeitz

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 6959
  • Age: 65
  • Location: Millville, Pa.
  • Gender: Male
  • Never enough time...
    • Share Post
    • My Hobbies
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2018, 01:51:47 PM »
I'm just a little disappointed. I have 20 new 3hp PM 3ph motors that I wanted to use. I see they wont run on just 3 phase electric. They need a digital AC drive to make them work. That was my plan for building these converters. This is the motors I wanted to use. It's the first time I've worked on anything like this. The magnets is in the rotor not the field.



 
Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

Offline mike_belben

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2117
  • Location: Middle TN
  • Pulp Friction
    • Share Post
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2018, 10:42:24 PM »
Is that an encoder on the back?  Servo motors?
Revelation 3:20

Online Southside logger

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2064
  • Age: 45
  • Location: Wilsons (Dinwiddie County), VA
  • Gender: Male
  • Sawing so I can afford to farm.
    • Share Post
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2018, 11:02:43 PM »
What is your plan for the motors?
'92 Franklin 170 grapple skidder
'92 Franklin 5000 wheeled buncher
Wicked Awesome Basset Hound * 2
JD 490D with 4 roller FabTek processer / hydraulic hose breaker
Hot wife
Wood Mizer LT35HDG25, Re-saw attachment
Official Member of the BBFC

Offline Kbeitz

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 6959
  • Age: 65
  • Location: Millville, Pa.
  • Gender: Male
  • Never enough time...
    • Share Post
    • My Hobbies
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2018, 07:27:45 AM »
Is that an encoder on the back?  Servo motors?
Yep...
Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

Offline Kbeitz

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 6959
  • Age: 65
  • Location: Millville, Pa.
  • Gender: Male
  • Never enough time...
    • Share Post
    • My Hobbies
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2018, 07:29:14 AM »
What is your plan for the motors?
You can never have enough motors. I'm always needing one for something I'm building.
Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

Offline mike_belben

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2117
  • Location: Middle TN
  • Pulp Friction
    • Share Post
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2018, 09:08:22 AM »
Those are a pretty penny.  Put em on ebay and build your bank account back up.  

They look about the right size for bridgeport cnc retrofits.  But servo control is a lot more money and complexity than stepper.  And by now most knee mills out there are too lose to take advantage of the added resolution from a servo.
Revelation 3:20

Offline pineywoods

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 4982
  • Age: 82
  • Location: Marion, Louisiana
  • Gender: Male
  • Engineering analysis-just sittin thinkin about it
    • Share Post
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2018, 09:29:19 AM »
Looks sorta like a heavy duty brushless dc motor, or possibly a stepper motor depending on the encoder. Either case, some serious electronics required. Probably came off some industrial robots.
1995 Wood Mizer LT 40, Liquid cooled kawasaki,homebuilt hydraulics. Homebuilt solar dry kiln.  Woodmaster 718 planner, Kubota M4700 with homemade forks and winch, stihl  028, 029, Ms390
100k bd ft club.Charter member of The Grumpy old Men

Offline Kbeitz

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 6959
  • Age: 65
  • Location: Millville, Pa.
  • Gender: Male
  • Never enough time...
    • Share Post
    • My Hobbies
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2018, 02:03:03 PM »
The only information I have about the motors is .

Motor: 3HP, 220V, 3-phase with inverter for single phase power equipment
Electronic variable-speed spindle control VFD; Power requirement


They came out of Grizzlys wood lathe GO 800.
Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

Offline mike_belben

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2117
  • Location: Middle TN
  • Pulp Friction
    • Share Post
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2018, 05:11:29 PM »
Well originally they probably came out of wang chang china.  

Do they turn smooth or cog a little by hand?   Stepper control is cheap but 3hp servo is $$
Revelation 3:20

Offline Kbeitz

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 6959
  • Age: 65
  • Location: Millville, Pa.
  • Gender: Male
  • Never enough time...
    • Share Post
    • My Hobbies
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2018, 05:57:27 PM »
Well originally they probably came out of wang chang china.  

Do they turn smooth or cog a little by hand?   Stepper control is cheap but 3hp servo is $$
I really don't think they are ether one. Only 4 wires coming from the motor not counting the encoder. Three hots and a ground. If I chuck one up in my lathe and wire it to another one on the bench it works great as a generator. The rotor has strong magnets on it and there is no brushes anywhere. Hooking up to my new phase converter it jumps all over the table. Hooking up other motors and it's works fine. Could it be 3 phase DC? I have worked on lots of motors but I have never seen anything like this before.
Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

Offline Don P

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 4559
  • Location: Southwestern VA
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
    • Calculator Index
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2018, 08:33:37 PM »
Don't know if you've already got it but the wiring diagram is on pg 53 here;
http://cdn2.grizzly.com/manuals/g0799_m.pdf

Looks like a bunch of control needed.

nice looking rotary, my first attempt I let the magic smoke out in the house and got banned from indoor wiring experiments :D

Offline Larry

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 5731
  • Age: 69
  • Location: NW Arkansas
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2018, 09:12:49 PM »
The GO-0800 is the flagship in Grizzly's wood lathe lineup. It hasn't been out long, so it would be a surprise to come across 20 brand new motors unless they are somehow defective.  I suspect they run just like any other 3 phase motor but have an inverter duty rating.  My understanding of inverter duty is heavier insulation on the windings to withstand more heat, which is caused by the inverter.

Are you trying to run them with your new rpc?  Most converters are sized at 100-200% of the motor they will be running. I wouldn't expect a 1 hp rpc to start a 3 hp motor. 

Larry

Nine out of ten trees recommend wood for your building project.

Offline mike_belben

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2117
  • Location: Middle TN
  • Pulp Friction
    • Share Post
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #13 on: April 07, 2018, 11:02:19 PM »
I dunno, its above my paygrade now.  Sounds like 4wire 3 phase for a continuous rotation.  Dont know why theyd have an encoder.  

Make windmills.  
Revelation 3:20

Online Southside logger

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2064
  • Age: 45
  • Location: Wilsons (Dinwiddie County), VA
  • Gender: Male
  • Sawing so I can afford to farm.
    • Share Post
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #14 on: April 07, 2018, 11:41:01 PM »
Could the encoder be measuring the RPM the motor is turning at?  A lot of the higher end lathes these days have a digital RPM display.  
'92 Franklin 170 grapple skidder
'92 Franklin 5000 wheeled buncher
Wicked Awesome Basset Hound * 2
JD 490D with 4 roller FabTek processer / hydraulic hose breaker
Hot wife
Wood Mizer LT35HDG25, Re-saw attachment
Official Member of the BBFC

Offline mike_belben

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2117
  • Location: Middle TN
  • Pulp Friction
    • Share Post
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #15 on: April 08, 2018, 12:11:13 AM »
I really dont know, maybe.  An encoder is an awfully expensive tachometer though.  They generate very high resolution feedback on position to ensure the rotor travelled the precise amount that the controller dictated.  Like way more precise than a stepper, and those have pretty fine resolution when multiplied through a leadscrew's TPI. 


On a lathe, a servo would normally be coupled to ball screws for XY automation.   Not much other need for encoder feedback i can think of. 
Revelation 3:20

Offline Kbeitz

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 6959
  • Age: 65
  • Location: Millville, Pa.
  • Gender: Male
  • Never enough time...
    • Share Post
    • My Hobbies
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #16 on: April 08, 2018, 07:49:54 AM »
The GO-0800 is the flagship in Grizzly's wood lathe lineup. It hasn't been out long, so it would be a surprise to come across 20 brand new motors unless they are somehow defective.  I suspect they run just like any other 3 phase motor but have an inverter duty rating.  My understanding of inverter duty is heavier insulation on the windings to withstand more heat, which is caused by the inverter.

Are you trying to run them with your new rpc?  Most converters are sized at 100-200% of the motor they will be running. I wouldn't expect a 1 hp rpc to start a 3 hp motor.
The encoder was to the measuring the RPM. Before the lathe hit the market it had a problem. It shocked everyone. So all the motors and the controllers was replaced. 100's went to the trash. They took no chance with them. Everything got replaced. The motor did start and run off my phase converter but it jumped around on the bench like I was trying to run a DC motor off AC. This is one of the controllers. I can not duplicate the shock. I only have a few controllers. At the time I got the motors just to make bank mowers with them. I put one on the PTO of the tractor and one on the mowing deck to run the blades. Worked great..

Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

Offline mike_belben

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2117
  • Location: Middle TN
  • Pulp Friction
    • Share Post
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #17 on: April 10, 2018, 07:54:09 AM »
I have to see this DC mower.
Revelation 3:20

Offline Kbeitz

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 6959
  • Age: 65
  • Location: Millville, Pa.
  • Gender: Male
  • Never enough time...
    • Share Post
    • My Hobbies
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #18 on: April 10, 2018, 08:21:18 AM »
I have to see this DC mower.
4th picture down from the top of the page....
And if it's DC I would think it would have to be pulsating DC.
Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

Offline Crusarius

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 1371
  • Age: 40
  • Location: Canadice, New York
  • Gender: Male
  • Lost in....
    • Share Post
    • RockModified.com
Re: 3 Phase rotary converter
« Reply #19 on: April 10, 2018, 12:22:14 PM »
brushless dc motors are not always for continuous rotation. I have a few on my desk right now that are being used to open and hold butterfly plates in EGR valves. The sensors are for position feedback.

One has 80 degrees of movement the other has 70 degrees.
I knew what I thought I meant.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via linkedin Share via pinterest Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via tumblr Share via twitter

xx
3 phase rotary converter

Started by Dana on General Board

7 Replies
1037 Views
Last post March 16, 2009, 12:54:58 PM
by logwalker
xx
help with rotary phase converter problem for shop

Started by Kelvin on Sawmills and Milling

9 Replies
2249 Views
Last post June 29, 2009, 08:03:28 PM
by Al_Smith
xx
Wiring Rotary Phase converter at Breaker Panel

Started by DGK on Drying and Processing

5 Replies
9687 Views
Last post December 04, 2011, 09:05:48 PM
by DGK
moved
MOVED: I need to buy a large used Rotary Phase Converter to power a wood moulder!

Started by Jeff on General Board

0 Replies
565 Views
Last post April 22, 2009, 08:45:35 PM
by Jeff
 


Powered by EzPortal