Planning My Mill Set Up

Started by Dana Stanley, August 24, 2018, 10:41:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dana Stanley

<br
Hi All I am new to saw milling, I just bought a Woodland Mills HM-126. I have been busy buying things to move logs, check for nails, cut big logs, extend the bed, etc. Real life keeps getting in the way so so far all I've been able to do is assemble the track, and planning. I have a layout for the area I am setting it up in, and am planning a shed, and canopy, plus a trailer for it, as well as a trailer for hauling upto 3500 lbs of logs.
I am looking into buying logs from local tree services, as well as charging to take down trees, and harvesting the logs (paid to take free wood). If I find a good local source I can avoid that, but I am willing and able if I need to for now. I could use some ideas for finding sources?
Some of the equipment I have so far are (bear in mind I know I am a hobby mill and have no delusions of being the local wood mill king) So I have:

The Mill HM-126

10' extension for the mill, angle and tube steel (I can fabricate and enjoy doing it)

My truck 2002 Ranger ( no logs in that)

4-chainsaws 2-16", 20",24" The 24" is a Mac 610 someone gave me, I had to fix the chain adjuster, and I just bought a 24" bar and chain for it (saved $500.00) One of the 16" was another freebie, I cleaned changed the fuel Primed the carb started right up, and runs great (saved $150.00 there) I like saving $$$.

Kabota 7500 tractor w backhoe. Hoe comes off in 2 minutes, I can use it for skidding and some lifting of logs.

Skidding attachment/trailer hitch for 3 point hitch $100.00 on line (not sure if I am allowed to post name of brand, got it for mill)

Skidding tongs $35.00

30" bucket pallet forks 1500# capacity $100.00(same brand as Skid attachment, bucket is rated for 850#s)

Home made pevey I made a while back and a $35.00 steel cant hook /jack stand.