iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Bigtooth Aspen - How to saw it?

Started by locustoak, March 18, 2020, 09:16:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

locustoak

I have a large, 20" diameter bigtooth aspen that I hate to turn into firewood. Problem is I have no experience sawing this. So - what would you saw it into? I intend to sell the lumber, so what would a customer even use this wood for? If it doesn't sell, I might use it for building some shelves, or other odd projects.

Also, is Bigtooth Aspen prone to twist, bending, or warp? Or does it dry pretty straight? This is different than the Aspens growing out west. This is a midwest tree.

Anyway, any tips or recommendations are appreciated!

barbender

I don't know that it behaves any differently than quaking aspen, which it grows alongside of throughout it's (bigtooth) range. The lumber is indistinguishable from each other. It saws nicely, flip your cant often to even out stress and don't saw overly wide boards out of it as it likes to cup.
Too many irons in the fire

Southside

Sawed one a couple of years ago, was a yard tree, did as barbender said and it came out fine.  Being a one off for this area it sold quite well. 
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

47sawdust

My experience has been that it saws very nice,very heavy when wet.If it has a lot of internal stress it will curl as you saw it and become kindling wood.
It is an under rated utility wood if the logs are good.
Mick
1997 WM Lt30 1999 WM twin blade edger Kubota L3750 Tajfun winchGood Health Work is my hobby.

locustoak

Thanks guys, I'll give it a shot. Looking forward to trying this new wood.
Now, would you recommend 2" material? 1" material? Or cut it into 4x4's for carving and table legs?

cutterboy