iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Timberframe Sugar Shack

Started by shackbuilder, January 12, 2016, 09:33:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shackbuilder

Hello everyone, new to the forum, and my first post. I am looking forward to tapping into the great wealth of knowledge here. I am an experienced woodworker, and carpenter, and have had a hand in the assembly and raising of one two story timberframe.  I make Maple Syrup in upstate NY, Helderberg Mtns, and I am getting ready to put up a timber frame Sugarhouse. I'll be getting locally milled White Pine, and doing the joinery myself.  I have a good idea of what i want to do, and have seen some photos of frames that look like what i want.  I would very much appreciate any opinions on as to if this is possible or not.

First of all, as I said the frame will be white Pine, 24 x 36, three 12' bays, one story, with a steep roof 10-12 on 12, with common rafters.  My First question is, can i span 24' with a tie beam, i need a clear span as the evaporator sits in the center, if so, does this need to be a giant beam or is an 8x10 adequate, the posts will be 8x8.
  Second is on the rafters, id like to do 3' spacing, tongue and fork with no ridge beam, and have at least a 1' overhang. Is it possible to do this without collar ties? Where can i calculate what i need for rafters, is a 4x6 adequate?  I'm thinking a 12/12 with steel roofing isn't holding much snow.

I also need a coupala for the sugar shack look, and steam venting if i dont go with hoods on the pans, it would be 12'long and 4' wide, so i'm thinking 2 sets of heavier rafters headered/purlined to each other to carry the three cut rafters, and the coupala.

I'd love to hear any input before i start sketching, also having trouble finding any local timberframe savvy engineers. Thanks in advance for your input.

https://forestryforum.com/gallery/albums/userpics/41855/sheds2.jpg

witterbound