iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Restoring Old Handplane

Started by 123maxbars, February 06, 2016, 01:50:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

123maxbars

First of two videos that I am posting today that show how I take and old stanley no 4 and turn it into something that can be used.
I am no professional tool restoration guy, but I get them back to a good usable condition.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eKLfTj0kN0E
Sawyer/Woodworker/Timber Harvester
Woodmizer LT70 Super Wide, Nyle L53 and 200 kiln, too many other machines to list.
outofthewoods
Youtube page
Out of the

Andy White

123maxbars,
Excellent video tutorial. Just the way it needs to be done. Only one thing that caught my eye, please use a plane screwdriver for removing the chip breaker. J have seen many good planes with a chipped cap iron from this practice. Keep up the good work, and post more of this.    Thanks,    Andy
Learning by day, aching by night, but loving every minute of it!! Running HM126 Woodland Mill, Stihl MS290, Homemade Log Arch, JD 5103/FEL and complete woodshop of American Delta tools.

123maxbars

Quote from: Andy White on February 06, 2016, 06:16:38 PM
123maxbars,
Excellent video tutorial. Just the way it needs to be done. Only one thing that caught my eye, please use a plane screwdriver for removing the chip breaker. J have seen many good planes with a chipped cap iron from this practice. Keep up the good work, and post more of this.    Thanks,    Andy

thanks,
I would say you are right, bad habit I have gotten into. Thanks for watching
Woodmizer LT70 Super Wide, Nyle L53 and 200 kiln, too many other machines to list.
outofthewoods
Youtube page
Out of the

123maxbars

This is part two of my restoration video. Final video in this process. Thought you people on here would enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oj6eTdNm9X8
outofthewoods
Youtube page
Out of the

Kbeitz

plane screwdriver ?

They have one just for planes ?
Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work