iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Tracked or 6 Wheel Harvester? Fixed Head or Dangle Head? Pros and Cons Please

Started by danbuendgen, August 15, 2016, 04:56:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

danbuendgen

This summer I took the plunge and I picked up an older Rottne SMV Rapid forwarder. I have always cut with a chain saw and used a small cable skidder. Within the next year or so I would like to get a harvester. I'm 30, I see the industry changing, there a need to cut lots of low grade wood. I have foresters telling me if I get a harvester they could throw a lot of work at me.

I'm still learning about the CTL system, and would like to hear about guys experience with different types of harvesters and heads. Part of me would like to get another older Rottne for a harvester so that way I would have two similar machines that I can get familiar with. But I have worked around tracked harvesters and like those as well.
What are the pros and cons of tracks vs 6 wheels?
Which works better on steep ground?
Which is easier to operate and maintain?
What are the pros and cons of fixed or dangle heads?
What are things to look at when shopping around/what are good questions to ask the seller?
I live in southern Vermont. We have a fair amount of steep and rough terrain here. My plan would be to cut all the small and low grade wood with a harvester and all the larger trees with a chain saw. What type of machine would work well for my area and wood type? I see both wheeled and tracked harvesters in my area, so I know both must work well enough here, but what do you guys think?