iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Should have ordered the FAOs with my LT35

Started by DanMc, April 21, 2024, 02:17:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DanMc

I just spent the last hour (that's all I'll admit to - I spent more than that) futzing around getting my LT35 levelled.  And yes, I'm still learning.  I find the stock outrigger "jacks" to be just a little bit better than worthless.  End do end, it's not hard to get the stock outriggers set, moving the head up and down.  But I had to lift the rail-side wheel about 3" off the ground to get the bed close to level using a hydraulic jack.

I would expect that the WM FAOs have enough guts to lift the side of the mill, and would eliminate the need to go grab a floor jack.  Yes?  It's an ACME thread in there, so that can lift a lot.

At this point, I don't care what they cost.
LT35HDG25
JD 4600, JD2210, JD332 tractors.
28 acres of trees, Still have all 10 fingers.
Jesus is Lord.

Ben Cut-wright

Your numbers seem to indicate the mill is set up on a grade that is near or over max mfg recommended. The " rail-side wheel about 3" off the ground" would put the deck pretty high, no matter which side the tire was that high off  the ground.  If the tire was hanging from the springs that would put the deck much higher still.  I've never encountered a situation which made that necessary. 

It's rare but I have had to dig the outriggers in, so there might be cause to excavate for the tire.  Gotta make a plan that works best for  the grade you have to work with.  If one side will require excessive elevation accommodation, that's gonna affect what must be done so the other side won't be out of reasonable working height, yet stable. If you put the landing gear on one side down with no forethought to the other side, then add in extra surface grade, you get side to side or end to end extremes.