iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

chainsaw delemma

Started by mainiac, November 01, 2006, 08:34:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mainiac

O.K. I am new to this sight and I have a question for you guys. I have a local shop that will sell me a new Husky 362xp with a 24" bar for $655 plus 5% sales tax. I have found the same saw on ebay (new) with free shipping, 24" bar, plus three chains for $599.

What would you do?
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.

thecfarm

Welcome to the forum.I would buy it from my local dealer,even though it cost more.Need to support the local guy.You may need something minor,but without it you can't run the saw,and he will remember you bought it from him and help you on the spot.Better than him saying won't be able to get to until tomorrow. I just go to my dealer when I need one.I do price around to make sure I'm not getting clipped,but I always buy from a local dealer.Tell him about the Ebay deal and I doubt he'll match the price but he might throw the chains in.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

beenthere

Also, welcome to the forum.
As thecfarm suggested, I would support the local guy too. You'll help keep him in business for your future needs, and avoid the potential frustration of the eBay transaction.
I bought from a young local fellow here just starting out in '75, and he's turned into a real whiz at chainsaw repair. He's also kept his prices under the bigger Stihl dealers around, and was the first to get the MS361 in his shop, which I bought for $500 (bought two at the same time) with 20" bar. The big dealers apparently had old stock to move, and said they couldn't even get the MS361 yet. Go figure.  :)

I hope he stays in business as long as I can still saw in the woods. But that may not happen. For sure, you won't be able to go to the eBay seller and get information, repairs, or a trade-up if desired.