iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Can you build a cheap kiln ? what about solar kilns ???

Started by Shaggy, September 22, 2013, 11:02:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shaggy

I'm new to this and trying to figure out what would be best for the lumber I'm going to produce. I want to sell most and use some as flooring in my new house so it needs to be dry but was wondering best way to do this besides waiting 6 mo. to a year to dry... Most (90%) is hardwood wood and mostly white oak then maple w/ some cherry and poplar...

So can you build a kiln @ reasonable price ???? What are solar kiln's ??? are they good??? Can they be made cheaply ???

Dan_Shade

can you define cheap?

a solar kiln uses solar energy as a heat source.
Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

Shaggy

lots of sun n heat here in south mississippi. so what is price range??? I'd build the building myself and want to know how much so I can see if its worth doing or would it be better getting it done by someone and still make a profit selling the lumber. But if its gonna take years (to pay off) and massive bank loans then I'd rather air dry or pay someone as I only pay cash for my stuff... Banks n Uncle Sam get TOO MUCH as it is...

Compensation

Look up top where it says solar kiln pictures. I forget total price of mine but it was under $1000 with fans and a few of the solar panels for power. Lan told me that solar can't get under 6% MC so that means it can be used as storage as well. I am vary novice about kilns so others would be better at recommendations.
D4D caterpillar, lt10 Woodmizer, 8x12 solar kiln, enough Stihl's to make my garages smell like their factory :) Ohh and built Ford tough baby!

GeneWengert-WoodDoc