iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Question About Setting Bandsaw Teeth

Started by LUV2MILL, July 19, 2015, 09:05:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LUV2MILL

Ok so I spent all this time building a blade grinder, I sharpen two blades take them out to the saw to test  them and I'm really seriously relieved because they are cutting really well :)

Nice flat cuts, smooth finish-on Hickory that came from a decent wood lot-It's all good right.

So I lift off a board about halfway through cutting this log and about a third of the way along the cut it's all jagged and from there the blade rises about 1/8". So I'm studying the face of the cut and there it is metal :'(

So when I'm examining the blade It doesn't appear to have any broken teeth but some have to be really offset bad to be leaving such a ragged cut.

So now my question. I've looked at a lot of setters but I don't see how any of them are addressing teeth that are too far out, they are all just making sure the teeth are set enough. What do I do to address teeth that are over set?

Andre

See ya
  Andre' B.

LUV2MILL

Ox

I've hammered them flat, bent them back with a crescent wrench or vise grips or pushed them back with the setter itself.  I prefer the wrench.  Any of these work fine unless you end up with a blade that hit a backstop and ended up looking like a peeled banana.  Half of those teeth broke off when trying to straighten them.  I still saved it for garbage or questionable trees.
K.I.S.S. - Keep It Simple Stupid
Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without
1989 GMC 3500 4x4 diesel dump and plow truck, 1964 Oliver 1600 Industrial with Parsons loader and backhoe, 1986 Zetor 5211, Cat's Claw sharpener, single tooth setter, homemade Linn Lumber 1900 style mill, old tools

kelLOGg

To unset a few teeth I use an idea I got from a fellow FFer.
Bob

Cook's MP-32, 20HP, 20' (modified w/ power feed, up/down, loader/turner)
DH kiln, CatClaw setter and sharpener, tandem trailer, log arch, tractor, thumb tacks