iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Chestnuts

Started by bandmiller2, August 26, 2009, 05:40:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bandmiller2

I have two blight resistant chinese/american chestnut trees for the last two years are producing alot of the prickley pods but they have only  tiny nuts in side.Wonder if its a maturity thing or a polination problem trees are large probibly 15 yrs. old. Frank C.
A man armed with common sense is packing a big piece

SPIKER

Im no expert on the subject but I was told that the OLD AMERICAN CHESTNUTS were of lower quality seeds/nuts they were generally small nuts compared to the Chinese chestnuts part of the reason that the Chinese chestnuts were brought here (with the blight as well.)

though I am not a expert on them I just read a good bit about them & listened to what was told.

Mark
I'm looking for help all the shrinks have given up on me :o

letemgrow

The american chesnuts were smaller, but with more flavor than the rest from all accounts I have read.  If the nuts inside are shriveled up then it sounds like a pollination problem since they cannot pollinate themselves. 

bandmiller2

Letemgrow,your probibly correct we have had a shortage of bees around here for several years.I planted two trees beside each outher and acording to the nursery catalog should cross pollinate.Trying to encourage a friend thats interested in bee keeping. Frank C.
A man armed with common sense is packing a big piece

bjorn