iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Brush Cutters

Started by Randall, June 13, 2005, 03:13:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Randall

I'm either going to buy a Stihl FS250 or a Husq. 232R Clearing
Saw/Weed Cutter.
The Stihl is 40cc at $459. The Husq. is 31cc at $479. I'm cleaning up 40 ac. of forest in North Idaho. Mostly Alder, Pine, Ceder, brush and weeds. No "hard" wood like Oak. Any thoughts?

Tillaway

More cc's the better if your clearing.  I have a 165 Husky out on loan right now.  The 45 cc husky is a good clearing saw too.  Lean towards the bigger Stihl if price is an issue.
Making Tillamook Bay safe for bait; one salmon at a time.

Ed_K

I've been running the husky 240r for 3 yrs now. If you get a husky, make sure it has the spring type clutch. The clip type won't stand up to brush cutting.
Ed K

Woodhog

It looks like you are about one range too low for the job you have in mind...

I would look for 45cc and higher for that job...

I use a 345 Husky for that kind of work... If I was more able(younger) I would go up to the next size...
If you get a Husky make sure they throw in the Deluxe Harness at no extra cost...

I dont know much about the Sthil except other people around like them...most are using the two largest Sthils for clearing work....

The local Highways dept uses all Sthils..

Get a few extra blades as they get dull quickly and I find them difficult to sharpen...

maple flats