iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Help identifying a tree

Started by BradWood, May 10, 2017, 08:12:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BradWood

I am having trouble identifying a tree in my neighborhood. I am new to this. I am a cub scout den leader and want to teach my scouts how to identify trees. A skill I obviously am trying to learn myself... Any help is greatly appreciated. I live about 30 min north of Cincinnati Ohio.

fixed image tags and thumbnail links, SwampDonkey

WDH

Your tree is an ash.  Genus Fraxinus

Could be white ash or green ash.  They can be distinguished apart by the buds and leaf scar and the fruit which is a single winged samara.  The difference between the two is very minor, so suffice it to say they you have an ash. 
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

BradWood

Thank you very much.  I thought it might be, I am amazed though that the Emerald Ash Bore didn't get it yet.. When I go hiking 3 miles from here, all the ash trees are ate up with the holes from the bug.  So, all the ash I see have those D shaped holes and beneath the bark is the pattern from the bugs.. 

sandhills

Welcome to the forum BradWood, and thanks for helping out the young ones.  Even an old guy like me learns a lot here so hang around you'll be amazed at you can find out.

BradWood

Glad I found the site.  The kids are great, the parents can be a challenge, I have a small Den, next year will have more boys though.  They teach me things also, it's great seeing the world through their eyes, it really is. 
I am a hobbyist woodworker and I have felt like an idiot for not being able to identify trees that I see.  So, hopefully I'll learn how to identify the common trees in my area at a glance.  Thanks for the warm welcome.

bluthum