iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Part-Time Firewood Sales?

Started by ReggieT, June 22, 2014, 11:52:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ReggieT

Tornado's have done a brutal job in my area & left a ton of blow-downs everywhere. I've been thinking about cutting, stacking, & putting away about 10-12 cords of this Oak & other hardwood that's just laying about.

Considering the idea of selling it during the Nov-Feb months coming up. Many of the city folks in Birmingham own fireplaces...and buy their wood from Lowes, Home Depot & Convince Stores.
The way I'm figuring it I may be able to knock a decent part time hustle, selling by the truckload delivered or pick-up at the house. I do have enough room for about 10-12 cords.

Just trying to do the dollars & cents portion of it, ya know? Will my cost of cutting, splitting, and stacking & delivering be worth my "blood sweat & tears?" Hmm...as my Grandpa used to say; I'm still studying on it.  :P

The only thing is that firewood sales down here are extra competitive...and I routinely see guys advertising they will deliver & stack for $65-100 a truck load...mostly green and fresh off the stump!  ::)

Just a little something on the side kinda...my wife suggested making up some fliers & targeting our neighborhood and surrounding neighborhoods specifically...hmm.

I sure don't need 10-12 cords just chilling in my back yard gathering critters & cobwebs that's for sure!
Any thoughts, wisdom, or ideas?

Hope all is well with you guys and you're having big fun.

Later,
Reg

r.man

If you have the time and energy I think you should try it. Do a few cord while advertising at a profitable price and see what happens. Don't get locked in to any price for larger amounts until you have done some and know what your overhead will be.
Life is too short or my list is too long, not sure which. Dec 2014

goose63