iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

safe mature oak felling

Started by redpowerd, April 07, 2005, 09:45:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

redpowerd

i have some mature oaks id like to remove from my woodlots that have some very intimidating lower limbs, limbs that are sawlogs in and of themselves. these limbs seem like they would be able to support the stem after felling. im not experienced enough to get in the tree and swing a saw around.

like to get these trees out so their offspring can grow better, cant wait for God to do it.
NO FARMERS -- NO FOOD
northern adirondak yankee farmer

rebocardo

My experience with water oak is once the tree is going over, the tree will go over, but, the trunk will split once the lower branches hit the ground because the branches on the other side are going down with literally a ton of weigh behind it. Plus,  you end up with some big limbs 8+ feet over your head and removal is dangerous. Might be okay if you have a winch to roll the tree, I use my truck. Safe and usable lumber are two different things.

I bought a cheap 14 inch electric saw and I am making it a pole saw. What it will be useful for is standing 8-12 feet off from those lower big limbs and drop them safely from a discreet distance of 8 feet or more. What I always worry about is cutting one limb off and then having the tree split from the uneven weight.

sprucebunny

Maybe you can hire someone who DOES have experience ( and insurance ! ) to help you ???

Maybe you could pay him in wood ;D
MS193, MS192 and an 026  Weeding and Thinning. Gilbert Champion sawmill

Kevin

Those large limbs can really be stressed with all that weight.
I would want to take those from up in the tree in small pieces or treat them as bottom bind and make the appropriate cuts to lessen the stress.
I'm free this weekend, send the Forestry Forum limo for me.

leweee

QuoteThose large limbs can really be stressed with all that weight.