iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Eastern Red Cedar Log Scale

Started by Dirtdobber, January 10, 2010, 12:06:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dirtdobber

Hello Everybody,  I'm new to this forum and I must say i'm glad that I ran across something like this. I have been cutting cedar off and on for about 18 or 19 years. I got away from it for awhile as my trade is well drilling which does not allow much time for my passion of cutting cedar. I've recently started cutting on about a five acre cedar thicket and also aquired a Timberking 1220 band mill. The problem now is all the mills that I used to sell to have went out of business. I have found a couple mills via the internet within 3 to 4 hours from where I am, which is east TN (Claiborne County) about 40 miles north of Knoxville. Any information on cedar log yards or anyone needing lumber would be appreciated. The other issue is that most people around don't have any idea about what i'm talking about when I mention the cedar scale. Is anyone on here familar with the cedar scale? One company that I found says they use the cedar scale, most say they use only the Doyle scale which with small cedar, you lose alot of board feet. I look forward to any input you have.                                                                                Thank  You!!!

LeeB

Do a serch for cedar scale. there are a couple of posts with one pictured.
'98 LT40HDD/Lombardini, Case 580L, Cat D4C, JD 3032 tractor, JD 5410 tractor, Husky 346, 372 and 562XP's. Stihl MS180 and MS361, 1998 and 2006 3/4 Ton 5.9 Cummins 4x4's, 1989 Dodge D100 w/ 318, and a 1966 Chevy C60 w/ dump bed.

beenthere

Dirtdobber
Welcome to the forum.
As LeeB said, a search here may help.

Also, a publication that discusses log rules/scales is available online, and in that shows comparisons between the different log rules (as they compare to International 1/4" I believe). It gives the formula used as well.

http://www.fpl.fs.fed.us/documnts/fplgtr/fplgtr01.pdf