iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Observations of a New Sawyer

Started by SawyerTed, March 24, 2018, 03:55:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SawyerTed

I'm still a rank amateur in this saw milling business-I've owned my mill about a month. I've sawn about 6.5Mbdft in the month.  A third has been for customers.

I've learned a few things, many I learned here.  In no specific order here are some of my "learnings"....

-This Forum is invaluable
-People think logs are cheap so your lumber should be next to free.
-Some think the only reason you have a sawmill is for "fun"
-A 30"diameter log is a big log and it is heavy
-Testosterone can cloud an evaluation of how hard moving a log can be
-Logs and lumber can easily hurt you or anyone else nearby
-Don't scrimp on support tools
-Sawdust can get in unusual places
-Volunteer help is great as long as they don't make extra work
-When you buy a mill go ahead and buy quality hearing, eye and toe protection
-Don't reinvent the wheel
-There's diminishing value in running a blade too long
-Learn your market and don't be ashamed of market prices
-There's a lot of science and engineering in this business
-The laws of physics apply
-Wearing a leather or heavy canvas apron is a good idea
-14', 16' and 18' lumber is hard to offbear alone
-Manufacturer support is important especially to a rookie
-Everybody wants a couple "scrap" 2x8x12, or a "scrap" live edge slab
-"So and so" is cheaper, gives his scrap away......
-Best response when "so and so" is mentioned, "You better go see so and so and quickly"
-You WILL hit metal with a blade, either in a log or part of the sawmill or both
-Folks want to talk
-There's a lot of tire kickers out there
-Don't be afraid to follow up on a contact
-Repeat customers are groomed through good service and quality
-Get a bigger sign
-It's hard to be logger and sawyer both when you are a one man show