iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Plantation Layout

Started by KBforester, April 06, 2013, 07:58:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KBforester

Here is a question from a forester, to other foresters. Whats your preferred way to layout plantations? I've been practicing forestry for less than a decade, and in this region plantations have been left to wayside.

I'm not looking for specifics related to species selection, density, or herbaceous control.

Just the actual layout of strait, parallel rows and tree placement. I'd like it to be really neat and tidy. I've got plenty of ideas.... just wanted to know what folks out there have used in the real world, I've never done one before.

And it's afforestation, if that matters... old hay field.

Thanks!

Trees are good.

WDH

Check out the first part of this thread.  Also, see Tom's comment on Reply #39.  "That's some mighty straight lines."

https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,33920.0.html

This was also an old hay field.  Customsawyer (Jake) ripped the soil to break up any plow pan, and the trees were planted in the rip.  Jake got the ripped rows almost perfectly straight, so maybe he will chime in here and share his technique for such straight rows. 
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

mesquite buckeye

If the land will get sold before the trees reach maturity, The land value will probably be greater with what looks more like a natural forest, as in not straight lines.

Kind of tough when you are using a tree planting machine, though...
Manage 80 acre tree farm in central Missouri and Mesquite timber and about a gozillion saguaros in Arizona.

KBforester

Quote from: mesquite buckeye on April 07, 2013, 12:04:54 AM