iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Hydraulic feed question?

Started by isassi, January 13, 2006, 09:53:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

isassi

I have been giving a lot of thought about bandmills and may build my own or modify a manual mill (cheapskate here ;) and since I have zero experience with them except watching a TK 1200, I wonder when I read the literature, how do they accomplish feed with an electric motor? I presume the hydraulic mills use a motor that can be speed varied? So, here is my thought: My Ditch Witch uses a variable control valve for the ground drive motor, foward and reverse and I'm a thinking that this would work great on a band head, rather then a valve lever that requires operator pressure? Any thoughts or am I way off target here?

highpockets

I am not sure just what you are going to do but I built a full hydraulic mill several years ago.  I have learned a bunch of stuff and since I own a machine shop, I am still modifying. 

I used a 5 h.p. engine to drive a 4 g.p.m. pump. There are eight circuits that do everything from loading the logs to moving the (feed) sawhead.   The biggest problem I had was getting a good controlled speed on the feed.  The other day it dawned on me that the old International Cub Cadets with hydrostat drive had a neat system.  The engine fed into the pump-motor arrangement. One could use an engine to feed in the Cub's hydrostat pump and also belt drive a separate pump for the other controls.  The little pump-motor has a small lever that can control the speed from 0 to whatever. 

On the lifting of the sawhead I used a hydraulic motor into a 40:1 gearbox and fed this out to a shaft with two chains that lifted the sawhead.  This ain't the best. I recently changed it and used a cylinder which I don't like. The cylinder can leak down letting the sawhead drop. I am not going back with a Acme 1-5 thread screw and powering it with the original hydraulic motor. 

Louisiana Country boy