iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Select clearing old untended forest

Started by ibseeker, July 02, 2007, 07:52:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ibseeker

I'm new to all of this. The forum as well as ownership of forest land. There is a near vertical learning curve here and at times I am overwhelmed with the amount of information and options that I have. I recently purchased 20 acres in Eastern Tennessee and the forest has not be managed in 60-70 years. A couple different professionals came and walked the forest with me and their opinions were very close. The Virginia pine, hemlock and poorly developed tulip poplar need to be cut. Fortunately, the pine and hemlock are mostly in groves with few other species intermingled. I've gotten a fair number of people to come and look, offer opinions and help with whatever they can do. The loggers in the area don't seem too interested in working the timber. However, one local logger said he will remove the pine and hemlock and take whatever poplar that is convenient. The local State Forester recommended this logger and that helps from a reference standpoint. The logger will have to cut in some roads and build a landing. The landing will be in an area that I want to cut a pond into later. I understand that there will be some destruction around the work areas but I don't see many other options. I've learned that 20 acres is a very large area and too much for one guy to work without equipment. By the way, I live in San Diego and will only work the property 2 weeks in the fall and two weeks in the spring. It will be 8-10 years before I can devote more time, $$ & energy. My goal is to manage and improve the timber until then. My current plan is to plant Eastern White Pine where the Virg pine was, add high quality Black Walnut and Black Cherry cultivars in small stands and as time permits, clear areas and add Red & White Oak.

Here's the questions: