iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Dealing with Building Officials and Engineers

Started by slowzuki, October 25, 2004, 09:45:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

slowzuki

I'm an engineer myself so I'm not being rude in this post but how have others experiences been?

Our issues with the building inspector:
-doesn't want ungraded lumber
-wants engineered plans for the building frame therefore wants engineered foundation

Issues with the Engineer (hired due to building inspector):
-wants to build a foundation that will survive nuclear fallout! He wants no cracking and about 3 times the min fill and a highway type roller to compact, no vibratory plates.
-Won't give his cost until done
-Has cost use 3 weeks with winter hot on our heals

I know they are reqd but our place is going to end up 3 times the $ and 5x stronger than any of our conventional built neighbours.  Its only a shop!  Sorry just some venting.

Buzz-sawyer

Slowzuki
I hear ya....
At times it seems they get together after work laughin at how they got ya jumpin through the hoop....just to see the monkey dance :( ;)
Ridiculous is the only appropriate word for them or thier plans.....
    HEAR THAT BLADE SING!

slowzuki

As an engineer myself I understand their reasoning as they remain proffesionally liable for their design.  I have no intention of sueing if the floor cracks but some people would.
Ken

QuoteSlowzuki
I hear ya....
At times it seems they get together after work laughin at how they got ya jumpin through the hoop....just to see the monkey dance :( ;)
Ridiculous is the only appropriate word for them or thier plans.....

JoeyLowe

Hey Slowzuki: