iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Fabtek 4-roller

Started by deastman, January 22, 2012, 04:03:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

deastman

Just purchased my first processor with a Fabtek 4-roller, and I have no previous experience operating any type of processor, just feller bunchers with hot saws.  It's currently in my shop having  some repairs done before I start cutting with it. How small of a diameter tree will the feed wheels run thru it or what diameter top will it delimb down too? Some of the points on the feed wheels have been rounded over, do they all need to be to a sharp point for proper grip on the tree or will the dull points cause the wheels to slip? Any info would be greatly appreciated, as usual I'm sure I'm in for quite an education when i get started. Thanks
Samsung 130 LCM-3 with Fabtek 4-roller and Cat 554 forwarder, Cat EL 180 excavator, Cat D3C dozer, Cat D7E dozer, '92 Ford LTL 9000 dump, Easy-2-Load 25 Ton tag-a-long, current project under construction: '91 Peterbilt 379 with a Hood 8000 w/extenda-boom loader

snowstorm

my keto will feed it down to 2". i would think the spikes would need a good point on them in frozen wood. tell a little more about what you bought. what part of the world are you in?

deastman

it's mounted on a 130 Samsung carrier and i'm located in Exeter, Maine. Any suggestions on a brand and size of forwarder that would work well with this machine? I'm currently looking at a 546 Valmet
Samsung 130 LCM-3 with Fabtek 4-roller and Cat 554 forwarder, Cat EL 180 excavator, Cat D3C dozer, Cat D7E dozer, '92 Ford LTL 9000 dump, Easy-2-Load 25 Ton tag-a-long, current project under construction: '91 Peterbilt 379 with a Hood 8000 w/extenda-boom loader

snowstorm