iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Hemlock compaired to Red pine

Started by chrissheerman, October 05, 2014, 06:59:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chrissheerman

Hi everyone. I'm new here and of coarse I have a newbie question. I was hoping you all could tell me if something ive been told is true or not. I live up in new hampshire if that makes any difference. I was told hemlock is best for floor joists rafters and and stud walls. But my big question is I was told red pine is almost as good as hemlock for building is this true??
Also if any of you would like to give me advice on what wood is good for what I have mostly white pine on my land hemlock and some spruce. I am asking about all of this because i'm planning to spend my winter sawing lumber for me to build my house next summer.
I'm new to sawing lumber i've done some but i'm used to working with other people that have years of experience just starting out on my own on 12 acres I bought last year.
Thanks much everyone.

GAB

chrissheerman:
First of all - Welcome to the forum.
The suggestion I have for you (this is assuming you are going to build with 6" walls) is to saw your material a full 6" wide and stack it to dry.  When you get ready to build since the windows and doors are manufactured for 6" studs purchased in a box store which are actually 5-1/2" then resaw your material to 5-1/2".  This will help you get a much straighter building as you will have removed a lot of the defects that occur(ed) during drying.
Gerald
W-M LT40HDD34, SLR, JD 420, JD 950w/loader and Woods backhoe, V3507 Fransguard winch, Cordwood Saw, 18' flat bed trailer, and other toys.

thecfarm

chrissheerman,welcome to the forum. Red pine,also known as Norway pine?Pinus resinosa