iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Where do I go from here ?

Started by Madman_Mark, March 04, 2005, 06:32:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Madman_Mark

I've been doing some part time logging for the last 2 years now and would like to expand/grow. Right now I use a 4WD tractor with a Farmi winch and usually work alone. Seems to be plenty of work so far, could even hire 1 guy part time for now. Not sure if I should buy a skidder and try to hire a couple of guys or buy a small forwarder etc... etc.... Have to stay low impact. Of course I'll line up plenty of work first. The local mill has given my name and number out a couple of times which also helps alot. I know there's alot more to figure out then this but I have to start somewhere. How have some of you guys started out and grown etc...
Need some opinions and advice.
Thanks.

tnlogger

Madman_Mark  its hard to say without knowing how big you want to get .
If you have a goodsized 4wheel drive tractor  i would look into a fowarding trailer
there are some good ones in your neck of the woods and it would keep your cost down
to start off with.
If you remember too take your time a grow slowly you can make it full time logging.
Make sure the income is more then the outcome and you'll be fine  :D :D :D
gene

thecfarm

Some people may not want a skidder on their land.I won't let one on mine even if I was driving it.Maybe land owners want a person like you to log on their land.Hard one to say.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

OLD_ JD

Madman_Mark u will have to consider the type of land u plan to work on it..i saw ure from halifax right?..is it swompy,or hilly or rocky??...them after u can chose if u go on weels or on track?is it on hardwood or evergreen??farm land or wild territory??are u transporting ure log??.....all those anwser can help u to get the best equipement ....hope that can help ;)
canadien forest ranger

Madman_Mark