iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

introduction and question

Started by kenlt30, February 14, 2012, 01:26:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kenlt30

Hello-I'm new to the forum, have a 1999 WM lt30hdg25 located in East Tn.
My question is regarding the hydraulic power strip. Frequently I have to use steel wool or light sandpaper on the strip due to the pits caused by arcing. Also I have cleaned and adjusted both contacts, checked connections, etc. The Interstate battery (fairly new) stays charged. It is rated at 140 reserve amps. At times I lose all power until I move the head an inch or so. Thanks in advance for any tips.

mad murdock

Welcome to the Forestry Forum kenlt30!  Great place to be.  I have no experience with the WM mills, or the specific issue you are having with it.  On other pieces of equipment that I have maintained over the years, some applications have required electrical conductive grease, to help maintain good contact, and preclude corrosion from causing contact issues.  I am sure someone more familiar with your specific issue will be along shortly with good information for your problem. 
Turbosawmill M6 (now M8) Warrior Ultra liteweight, Granberg Alaskan III, lots of saws-gas powered and human powered :D

Magic Smoke

Welcome kenlt30.
The positive contact button that rides with the head needs to be adjusted closer to the contact strip. The bracket that holds the contact has adjustment slots for making adjustments, eventually the contact button gets worn to a point that it needs replacing.The button is spring loaded and should have some tension on it when in contact with the strip. Don't put any grease on it or it will collect sawdust like a magnet.
Hope this helps.

west penn