iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

sawmill as a fire wood machine

Started by ALA2, February 16, 2012, 09:58:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ALA2

Hello all
  i just bought a circle mill  it says corley on the log  bunk, rest of the saw looks like it was put together with scrap , 
any way i am going to add a second arbour and a second trolly and saw limb wood.
i will be able to still saw  logs with a little changeover  of parts,
My ? is  can a 48 insert blade  be used and can it be flipped around to saw other way. insted of left to right, right to left.
I am new to the saw mill thing so  be gentle  this forum  has the experience  to help me . i tried the search and could not find what i neaded
  thanks   al

Magicman

I can't help you with your question but Welcome to the Forestry Forum.   :)
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Jeff

Quote from: ALA2 on February 16, 2012, 09:58:10 PM
is  can a 48 insert blade  be used and can it be flipped around to saw other way. insted of left to right, right to left.

Nope you cannot. A Circle sawmill blade is tensioned to run in either right or left handed but not both.
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

steamsawyer

Hey ALA2,

I guess to answer your first question, no you can't flop the blade over and run the blade in the opposite direction. The blade is tensioned to run in one direction and for a specific rpm. Can you post some pictures of what you have? That way we can see what you have to work with.