iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Chainsaw file sizes

Started by CCC4, March 01, 2016, 11:15:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CCC4

I have been running a particular size for over 20 years now...I think I am going to make a switch. Anyone want to give a good versus discussion on 7/32 vs 13/64?

HolmenTree

As long as I can remember going back over 40 years,  a 3/8" chain was filed with a 7/32" file from new. Then when the cutters were filed back halfways the smaller 13/64" file was then recommended  to be used. That was standard with Oregon, Stihl, Windsor and Carlton .
But about 15 years ago or so with all the complaints for years that the Stihl chain was hard to file my reasoning  is, Stihl then factory ground their 3/8 chain to accept the 13/64" file enabling easier filing with the smaller diameter, then just file the whole cutter with that one size.
Their. 404 is still  7/32" spec.
Making a living with a saw since age 16.

CCC4

Reason for my question is I have been using 13/64. I always thought that the smaller file gave a better over hang. The other day I had no file and I had a new 7/32 I thought I would give a try. I was suprised that I felt as if I was cutting faster, smoother and less grab. I sharpen fairly aggressively and did the same with the 7/32. I am not half through the chain yet but everyday I brag on how well it is cutting. I seem to be able to really lay on the cut and not pull the saw down. The chips are large and look really nice.

I was just wondering if it could be the change in the over hang due to the larger file, or just what it is that I am experiencing.

lumberjack48

With the 13/64 your filing a little to deep, casing the cutter to get to much hook. And if your running your rakers a little to low with to much hook your going to lose rpm and the saw wants to grab the wood instead of making a smooth cut.