iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Question about timber crusing equipment

Started by chowtownsfinest, February 15, 2014, 03:24:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

chowtownsfinest

With another field season fast approaching I'm starting to replace some of the gear I've worn out. I primarily do FIA research, but am hopefully picking up some timber cruising work this season.

Question 1: I've been using a standard sighted mirror compass for the last 5 years, but the bezel has worn out on me, and I'm looking at replacing it with a Suunto Tandem like this one: http://www.suunto.com/en-US/Products/Compasses/Suunto-Tandem/Suunto-Tandem-360PC360RD1/  the extra benefit being that it includes a clinometer I can use as a backup to my laser, which has failed me in the field in the past.  The compass will primarily be for shooting Azimuths on FIA plots.  But will it be too awkward to use for navigation as compared to a standard sighted mirror compass?

Question 2:  It was recommended that I pick up a Relaskop for the type of timber crusing I'll be doing, and I've read through a few of the older threads on here about using them, but I was curios if anyone had any thoughts on some of the newer Laser Hypsometers/BAF Scopes like the Trimble Laser Ace 1000 http://www.forestry-suppliers.com/product_pages/View_Catalog_Page.asp?mi=38451&title=Trimble+LaserAce%AE+1000+Rangefinder+with+Digital+Compass&itemnum=59051 or the Criterion RD 1000 http://www.forestry-suppliers.com/product_pages/View_Catalog_Page.asp?mi=38731&title=Criterion%99+RD+1000+Electronic+BAF%2Dscope%2FDendrometer  Any thoughts on what to use?

Clark