iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Stupid question about gooseneck trailers.

Started by Old Greenhorn, August 01, 2019, 01:10:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Old Greenhorn

OK guys and Gals, first, don't get too wrapped up in this one because I am just looking for basic entry level knowledge. I have no knowledge or experience with goose-neck trailers which I always called a 5th wheel. I am about to switch back to a full sized pickup after a couple of years with those mini jobs. I would love to get a 350 or 3500, but the mileage is so bad for commuting that it is a non starter. Diesel is out too for other reasons. I would like to get something with a good tow package and would like to stay in the 1500 class if I can. But I also want to be able to pull a trailer with a few good logs on it, NOT a huge full load, just a few good logs. Tongue weight gets to be an issue as well as handling with a 16' trailer and some weight.
 SO I am wondering, if I were to get a goose neck trailer say around 18 to 20' how would that handle on a 1500 class truck compared to a standard receiver hitch? I like the idea of having the load right over the axle and figure it will just come down to the pulling power of the truck. I have no interstate driving in my plans at all. Just rural and secondary roads, 55 mph tops. 
What do you guys think, can I get a better load on a goose neck than I can on a receiver hitch with the same truck or am I just urinating into the wind trying to squeeze too much out of a smallish truck?
 Again, don't go crazy here, but I know this group will open my eyes a bit and maybe give me the reality check I need, as usual.
Tom Lindtveit, Woodsman Forest Products
Oscar 328 Band Mill, Husky 350, 450, 562, & 372 (Clone), Mule 3010, and too many hand tools. :) Retired and trying to make a living to stay that way. NYLT Certified.
OK, maybe I'm the woodcutter now.
I work with wood, There is a rumor I might be a woodworker.

LeeB