iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

cutting slab wood

Started by timh, January 12, 2010, 09:10:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

timh

I got a bunch of slab wood to cut whats way chainsaw ,buzz saw?

Bibbyman

I've got no first hand experience with a buzz saw.

But if the slabs are stacked tight and neat or bundled,  a big chain saw with a long bar will go through them pretty fast and you won't have to lift and carry them to the buzz saw.

Others have built racks to stack up a thick wall of slabs and then use the chainsaw to whack them up.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

Chuck White

I agree with Bibby, make yourself a rack and use a chainsaw!

With a buzz saw, you have to handle each slab by itself, and they're cut one at a time!
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

Magicman

Yup, I just cut down through the whole pile of slabs.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Bro. Noble

If I can't get better wood,  I pick up a slab bundle on the forks,  put an extra band in the middle to hold the bundle together as I cut furnace length pieces,  hold the bundle over my wood pile and start cutting.  You need to have a good chain file on hand, caus slabs are murder on chains.
milking and logging and sawing and milking

woodmills1

Ya just pick dem up widda log loader and cut dem widda 066 any length ya wants.