iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need advice: Cleanup and reforestation of 253 acres

Started by RAW, January 08, 2006, 11:59:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RAW

Howdy, all.

Let me introduce myself.  I'm Reuben.  I have zero forestry experience.  I have very, very minor equipment experience.
And the wife and I have purchased 253 acres in western North Carolina.  The terrain is quite steep, as you can imagine.

And that's where I need help.  We bought the property a couple of years ago.  At some point within the last five to ten years, the property was logged by its former owners.  Unfortunately, this left a huge mess of downed trees and slash piles and now briars and clogging undergrowth. 

The good thing about the logging is that there are lots of roads cut in around the property.  I'd like to connect some of the dead-ends and keep most of these roads open as walking/ATV trails.

I'd like to be able to clean the property up over time.  I'd like to get rid of the downed trees and trash piles.  I'd like to clear out the heavy undergrowth and briars.  I know that is a huge undertaking, but I'm not quite 30, so I've got some years left to do it. 

Initially what I'd like to do is clean up targeted areas.  For example, there are a few creeks on the property that have lovely flat areas around them.  Those areas would be great to clear with pleasantly spaced trees for a more "picnic-friendly" area.

In addition to the clearing of dead trees, limbs, and undergrowth, I'd like to be able to reshape some of the trails and create some new connections.  There will also be the need to occasionally clear snow from our steep 3/4 mile, paved driveway.  Along this driveway, I will also need to clear the drainage ditch and hopefully cut the vegetation on the bank.  There is an additional 1/4 mile of drive that leads from our house-site to my studio/workshop.  That road will only be gravel and will need to be maintained.