iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Shape of stone for sharpening blades.

Started by Mark Webb, July 22, 2010, 07:53:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mark Webb

I have been using the 3/8 ruby stone from Suffolk. What I would like some help on is how to shape it to do the best job.
The Lord made enough time in each day to do what we need to do "graciously".

Kansas

Is it a sharpener from Cooks? That I have some experience with. Put the stone on, take a diamond dresser, and start dressing the incoming side. You might dress the very corner of the outgoing side, but lightly. That always gets wore down first, and requires reshaping the whole stone. After you get the stone dressed somewhat, put it on a blade, and lightly kiss the blade with the stone. Grind and correct the needed areas as needed. If you need a diamond dresser, Suffolk sells them pretty cheap. As the blade goes around, you can correct the stone. I start with getting the down side against the face of the tooth first. Adjust that so it lightly grinds that. Then the upside of the gullet is a lot easier to  do.

If its not a Cooks, I don't know. Make sure you have the correct cam on.  (Don't ask me how I know.)

Tom

Shaping a stone for a cam grinder isn't too difficult when you realize what the cam is doing.

The trailing edge of the stone, the one that grinds the face of the tooth, is not affected by the cam, other than having the depth controlled.