iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Old willys vs tractor for logging?

Started by slice107, April 22, 2019, 11:07:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

slice107

My grandma wants her 200 acres logged, its mostly firewood trees in there and theres already trails everywhere. She has a old willys jeep with a winch on the back but it needs some work. I was also thinking about getting a old tractor like 8n or something but i think the jeep would be better cause I could throw the saw in the back of it and any other tools I would need. She has a old logging winch for a tractor there to.

i talked to my mechanic friend and he said that the jeep needs allot of work, about a month of work if we did it after he got home.

Also I'm pretty new to the whole logging thing. I just don't want to be stuck doing all that work to the jeep and learn that a tractor would be better.
Stihl 028, Husqvarna 288,285, Stihl MS500i, Ford 8n.

Huztle/Farmertech 36" CS mill

Norwood HD36

sawguy21

The Willys won't last long  doing that kind of work, it will be underpowered and the drivetrain won't stand the abuse. You say you are new to this, get some experienced help. Logging is a very dangerous operation at the best of times. Where are you and what are you working with? We might be better able to offer constructive suggestions.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

slice107

I'm in Ontario and I'm not working with much. I have a good understanding of how cable works and i have been around allot of heavy equipment. I got a little ATV but that is it for anything with wheels right now. I got a chainsaw mill i was going to use on any decent saw logs I found. But I thought the jeep with winch would be good cause I can use winch to pull hung up trees down so I'm not near them. Id also be hauling a trailer around in the bush I don't really plan on skidding logs out on the trails.

Norwood HD36

47sawdust