iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

scaling timber

Started by GlennCz, August 01, 2005, 09:11:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GlennCz

We took our second load to the sawmill on Thursday.  I was a little disappointed in the amount paid for the load and so I studied the log scale report and what i found was that most of the logs, about 90%, received the highest grade they could based on diameter of small end.  So how could I really complain?  I know that we are doing a thinning and so we are taking out the crappiest wood(but with some value) and leaving the better stuff that has room to grow.

Is it customary for the logger to go with the logging truck and watch the scaler work??  I can see it's all a long process with the truck taking about 45 min's to load then that amt again to unload at the mill.  Do you think it makes any difference if someone is looking over the shoulder of the scaler?

Also, I know I got a great answer to the question of wether now is a "good time to sell timber" and I was told it is like the stock market, which I understand enough to know I can't predict it-sometimes it goes higher or lower than we would ever think).  But I am doing a 60 acre thinning and I hope I'm not "for sure" doing it at the wrong time.  I know that log prices might be higher with bad weather and muddy spring, and that might be a good time to sell, but then I'd have the same trouble everyone else is having with the weather and potential damage to my property.

beenthere

I suspect you are right in there amongst many others wondering how to get more for all the hard work you go through to get the logs to the mill.