iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cantered Queen Barn Repair

Started by jvermast, March 20, 2018, 08:24:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jvermast

We recently moved to a new home with multiple structures on the land, the largest being this 40x60 canted queen barn. One of my first tasks is to shore up the eastern wall where the tie beam seems to have a failed joint at the center post - this has caused the wall of the barn to buckle out.

I'm not looking to completely restore this barn but to shore it up square and support the wall to give it a longer lifespan vs selling it to a barn board reseller for an even trade on profit vs teardown effort.

Here was my plan - I doubt it's perfect and definitely will make an engineer scoff, but I think it will tie everything back in together. This barn is used a workshop on the first floor, the second floor is only for household storage and as such I am not bothered by the addition of beams directly down the middle.

I am a woodworker and have no issues with the wood side of things, just looking to validate my ideas on the structural.

Brad_bb

I can't tell what's wrong or damaged.  Before even looking at solution options, need to understand the situation.  Why not just repair what is damaged as it originally was?  That would be my first solution.  If you need to beef up the second floor to hold more weight than originally designed, that's a separate issue.
Anything someone can design, I can sure figure out how to fix!
If I say it\\\\\\\'s going to take so long, multiply that by at least 3!

Don P

I agree about needing to understand better. This is from the hip without a full understanding.