iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Personal Introduction

Started by Mark Gibney, September 14, 2015, 11:38:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mark Gibney

I joined the forum yesterday, and posted a request looking for air dried oak in SoCal, and Magicman suggested I come on here and introduce myself.

I'm a woodworker, based in Los Angeles. Tables, desks, reception desks, credenzas, that's the sort of thing keeps me busy. Cabinetry too. I have a one man shop, so the only person who passes judgement on my works-in-progress is my boss, erm, wife. Good job she has a better eye than me.

I've been doing my fair share of live edge tables, as you know people like them right now, and SoCal is a good place to get this wood, there are all sorts of trees planted on streets and as landscape trees. I don't mill any trees myself, no room. But I'd love to live someplace some day where I can do this.

The next big project coming up for me is a kiln to sterilize lumber, so I'm happy to see there's a lot already on this forum about that.

Well that's about it.

Ox

Welcome to the forum, Mark!  You'll find the more you read and use the search function that this is indeed the best place on the internet.  Everyone is friendly and there's no such thing as a stupid question.  You won't get harassed or made to feel stupid here.  A bunch of stand up guys.  You can ask any question about anything and someone here will know the answer.  It may take a few days to get that right answer but it'll happen!

I can't help you with your lumber search as I'm on the other side of the country.
K.I.S.S. - Keep It Simple Stupid
Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without
1989 GMC 3500 4x4 diesel dump and plow truck, 1964 Oliver 1600 Industrial with Parsons loader and backhoe, 1986 Zetor 5211, Cat's Claw sharpener, single tooth setter, homemade Linn Lumber 1900 style mill, old tools

sandhills

Welcome Mark, I can't help either but someone here will know, you found the right place.

coxy