iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

diesel 'shootin

Started by redpowerd, March 13, 2004, 12:52:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

redpowerd

i have a ton 85 6.9 that is stairin at a fuel pump prob.
i drove it from nc, ran like new.
i have ALL air and water out of the lines.
the only way i can get her to idle is if i hold it to the floor, and then she just goes at 15, comp test @ 15% over a;;

any of the forum members work on these?

NO FARMERS -- NO FOOD
northern adirondak yankee farmer

rebocardo

6.9 = 1986 F-350 6.9 naturally aspired diesel?

I suggest www.ford-trucks.com

for some good help.

Start in the
Pre Power Stroke forum.

I have worked at Ford dealers and at Ryder on diesel class 8/tractors, though I am far from an expert on them. One thing I might suggest is using a fuel system cleaner and changing the fuel filter again.

I see you are from NY and the truck came from NC. It may be as simple as putting a brand name "real" winter fuel in there along with an anti-gel additive and anti-algae additive. Then change the filter again.

There might be a pre filter on the hose from the gas tank that needs to be cleaned.

Make sure you or a gas attendent did not put gas instead of diesel into the tank.

Hope you solve it soon.

redpowerd

after i got it home i burned aprox 3-4 tanks of red diesel in it, no problem. the problem started with a slow loss of power, so i changed the filter and ran some cetane boost and anti-gel thru it. nothing. noticed some wetness around some return lines from the injectors, replaced them along with the caps, nothing.
ill check out ford-diesel and see if they can help.
thanks
jon
NO FARMERS -- NO FOOD

Kirk_Allen

Not familiar with deisals but it sounds like a collapsed catyletic vonverter creating way to much back pressure.

redpowerd