iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Wood ashes for traction

Started by Bert, September 24, 2018, 01:17:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bert

My father always put wood ashes from his woodstove on the driveway for snow and ice traction. It  works surprisingly well. I recently purchased a side by side and was thinking of a spreader for ashes from my outdoor boiler to mount on the back to help out this winter. My driveway is 1/4 mile or so long and hand spreading is a pain. Would a salt spreader work? I have zero experience with them.  The driveway is gravel and this would be done once plowed just to give some bite in snow and ice. Ashes to be spread would be dry, yet given time to be completely cool before spreading. I dont want to burn up my plow vehicle :D
Saw you tomorrow!

Ljohnsaw

I suppose in the spring the ash would just sink into the gravel and you would be through with it.  I've accumulated a bit of sawdust ::) and was thinking that would be good to spread on snow/ice for walkways.  Out in the country, you could just blow it off in the spring.  The really nice thing is it is really light, unlike spreading sand.  Anyone use sawdust for traction?
John Sawicky

Just North-East of Sacramento...

SkyTrak 9038, Ford 545D FEL, Davis Little Monster backhoe, Case 16+4 Trencher, Home Built 42" capacity/36" cut Bandmill up to 54' long - using it all to build a timber frame cabin.

gspren

My experience was that the ashes from coal (cinders) provided great traction while the wood ashes mainly helped melt the ice/snow because of the color. Maybe if your getting more chunky ashes than me it's different.
Stihl 041, 044 & 261, Kubota 400 RTV, Kubota BX 2670, Ferris Zero turn

mike_belben

I put sawdust, bark and woodchips on freshly dozed up clay.  Keeps it from sticking to your boots in the rain, and from drying to powder during drought.  Traction wise its so so.  Better than nothing but not gonna replace crusher run anytime soon.
Praise The Lord

Ivan49