iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

4 head molder question

Started by Mike_M, October 22, 2007, 12:41:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mike_M

Does wood out of the kiln need to be surfaced with a jointer before it is run into a 4 head planer? I am thinking if the material is not straight or has cup or twist. I'm still learning about these machines and was curious if the 4 head moulder replaces a jointer?  Thanks for any input.

David Freed

On the Logosol you can send a blank through up to 1/4" over the finished size; 1/8" is better. To answer your question, yes you can run rough lumber through it if it is fairly flat and not too thick. We usually have to plane our lumber down to the proper thickness for the blanks we are using (1/8' over). As a side note I do not have a jointer in my shop. Never have needed one.     David

Mike_M

Thanks for the reply. It would probably be nice to have a jointer just for those boards that need a little help.

Don P

The older push feed molders are pretty much just like a planer, smash it flat, shape it, it springs back on the back side. The shop I worked in that had one also had a facer. It was replaced by a new through feed molder that had soft infeed and bottom head first with a long, height adjustable, jointer bed infeed. The first head also cut a rabbet on the right side that served as a straight line to ride the fence to the next head which was right side. The feeds then were after the left side before the top head, then one rubber feed after that. That one went to a bolt on universal 5th head. So the more modern machine faced and jointed within reason. I did have to keep an eye on the accuracy within the pack and preplane thick boards.

Brad_S.

The first head on most moulders is the bottom head and acts as a jointer would.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." J. Lennon

trim4u2nv