iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Stickers

Started by ahlkey, September 16, 2008, 01:05:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ahlkey

I am new to sawing but things are going well with my Norwood 23 HP mill.  My question relates to sticking and where do you find good stickers to use that are not expensive.  I see some that have a groove cut in them but have not tried that.   I have made some of them out of seasoned pine but they don't seem to hold up in the Wisconsin weather and a lot of them eventually split, bend, or become crooked.  I am air drying in an open shed and do primarily only hardwood.  The wood has been drying well and I like the results. 

It would be nice to be able to get enough seasoned stickers to get over the hump until I figure out what I need to do to make them correctly?  Any specific wood you would  recommend be used?  Any advice would be appreciated.

John

ARKANSAWYER

Most of my stickers are just made from the fletchings of what ever I am sawing.  I like oak ones best and clear pine holds up well.  But I have cherry, walnut and cedar ones as well.  Any sticker is better then no sticker.  I bet I have close to a million stickers strung over 30 acres.
ARKANSAWYER

beenthere

Curious about why seasoned pine stickers do not hold up in Wisconsin weather?

If in a pile of lumber as stickers, then they shouldn't decay. If seasoned and in a pile of lumber, they shouldn't split, bend or become crooked (if they do, then I'd guess they really were not seasoned).

Or..are you saying they don't hold up when NOT in a pile of lumber, but just piled up somewhere?  If so, they need protection from this Wisconsin weather.

I'd think, to get seasoned stickers, you could rip up some lumber that you have air dried, and use those. A good sticker just needs to be uniform thickness and able to be placed one over the other in a stickered pile of lumber.

south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Justin L