iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Is there a best joint?

Started by jtbartlett, March 29, 2011, 05:54:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jtbartlett

Hello I am brand new to timber framing and need some advice. I am looking for the correct joint for the following application: shed style roof into lower ridge beam. I have Ted Benson's book Building the Timber Frame House but this particular joint is not covered. I have not seen too many shed style timber frames before so I thought someone here might me able to assist. My thoughts are that I shouldn't mortice the rafters into the lower ridge beam compromising the strength of the beam. Since the bearing weight of the rafters is 'into' the beam would a shoulder cut into the beam with the rafter pegged perpendicularly be enough? Thanks.  

Jim_Rogers

jt:
what is the pitch of the shed roof?
Jim
Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Woodmizer 1994 LT30HDG24 with 6' Bed Extension

Jim_Rogers

Where the rafter meets the posts you maybe able to use something like this:

Can we see the whole frame?

Jim

jtbartlett

Sorry, I should have stated the pitch of the shed roof is 6/12. I'm working from images off the web so I don't have detailed plans. I'm working on a set.

Jim_Rogers

ok, I do understand.

first of all there are the basic rules of joints.

For example, if you were to try to cut a mortise in the horizontal beam for a tenon then the mortise would have to go with the grain.

Next, the tenon should be with the grain of the rafter.

this leads to a complex joint and can be very difficult to cut and get right.

let alone how it's going to weaken the horizontal beam.

Here are some examples:

Ok, so let's look at number 1.

You'll see that the tenon follows the rule that the mortise has to be at the cut with the grain of the horizontal beam. But the tenon is cut at an angle and that makes it cross grain and will split and not hold it very well to the timber.

Let's look at number 2