iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What are these?

Started by Busysawyer, April 15, 2018, 09:33:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Busysawyer

First one I think is basswood. I am new to identifying trees so please be easy on me.

Next looks similar but a little different. 
Hickory maybe?

Even a blind squirrel finds a nut every once in awhile

xlogger

here in nc I would say it looks like poplar
Timberking 2000, Turbo slabber Mill, 584 Case, Bobcat 773, solar kiln, Nyle L-53 DH kiln

Pjames

Klunker

He's in Michigan, Not what we call poplar up here. Poplar=Aspen in the Great Lakes area.

I would say Ash 1st, possibly Basswood altho Basswood has a habit of growing in clumps, not always but usually.

Southside

I agree with both of you. I thought tulip poplar until I saw the location is Michigan then Ash came to mind. 
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

Busysawyer

I have to remove these trees to clear space for the milling project. I cut the first one and believe it to be bass woodwood. The heartwood is yellow. The second tree looks similar in the pics but in person the bark looks quite a bit different. Does bass wood normally have a yellow core.  One of the reasons I thought the second was hickory is that it looks the same or very similar to one of the larger hickory that was marked by the tree buyer we had here.

Dave Shepard

Those look like tulip and ash to me. Pignut hickory can look like ash.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

Dave Shepard

Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

bill m

Looks like Tulip to me. How about a close up picture of the branches and buds.
NH tc55da Metavic 4x4 trailer Stihl and Husky saws

Busysawyer