iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Small business

Started by codyleviere, February 10, 2016, 05:43:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

codyleviere

Hey guys! I'm new to the forum and was looking for a little help. I've been thinking about starting a small portable sawmill business. I've worked in the lumber industry before and enjoyed it, but hated working for a big company that doesn't pay for honest hard work. My family owns about 120 acres here in pa (where i am from)that i could get a start cutting cherry, oak, hemlock etc. I'm also a certified hardwood lumber inspector. Any tips on financing, how to get into niches, and business plans and set ups? Any help would be fantastic. Thanks

customsawyer

Welcome to the forum.
What kind of income are you looking for?
Two LT70s, Nyle L200 kiln, 4 head Pinheiro planer, 30" double surface Cantek planer, Lucas dedicated slabber, Slabmizer, and enough rolling stock and chainsaws to keep it all running.
www.thecustomsawyer.com

codyleviere

Well for right now i wont need much to get by. I'm dating a nurse and she backs me 100 percent and our relationship is long term. i have a part time job right now and im making ends meet. Should i try for a sba microloan? finance through a sawmill company? Eventually i would like to just run a mill and kiln and sell professionally graded lumber!!! I know its rough but gotta dream ya know?

customsawyer

In your original post you asked about portable milling, now you are asking about selling dried and graded lumber. Two different businesses. Which one are you wanting to pursue.
Two LT70s, Nyle L200 kiln, 4 head Pinheiro planer, 30" double surface Cantek planer, Lucas dedicated slabber, Slabmizer, and enough rolling stock and chainsaws to keep it all running.
www.thecustomsawyer.com

codyleviere

well like i said i have 100 + acres and i know im not gonna be constantly busy on the portable side so i want to be able to cut and sell my own lumber also. sorry for the confusion!

Verticaltrx