iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Vermont Timber Theft on National Forest- Someone really wanted to get busted

Started by peakbagger, January 10, 2024, 07:14:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Log-it-up

BargeMonkey

Be a slap on the wrist and more money in legal fees than the wood was worth. If you read closely they wacked him pretty good for stripping the piece prior, under a tax program, known as 480A here in NY. It happens all the time people just don't hear about it, they personally named a family here in Blenhiem when NY changed the timber theft laws a while ago, steal off private, state, didn't matter. In the end the old man's medical bills cost the county to much money to keep him locked up, they got away with it.

Log-it-up

I'm sure it happens more than people hear about, I was a professional witness in a deposition this past fall about some one cutting over the line, couple years ago there was a big to do on the news about a couple brothers that logged stealing timber, wasn't the first time I think the judge ordered them not to harvest timber in vt anymore plus fines

AndyVT

A couple of brothers down the road from me were cutting and stealing hardwood logs from the state forest across from my property. They were pretty obvious about it so I gave the county forester a call who contacted the state game warden, who has law enforcement power. The warden staked out the cutting location and caught one brother. The other brother was caught selling logs at the buyers yard. Long story short, they gave the brother who was selling some jail time but essentially let the cutting brother off as far as I could tell since I saw him back at his home just a few days later.

Ron Scott

I've been involved in the investigation of a number of timber theft cases as a USFS forester and as a private consulting forester and the law usually wins with some penalties being heavier than others depending upon the resource values and damages involved.
~Ron

Texas Ranger