iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Stairs design help

Started by sbishop, August 18, 2011, 09:59:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sbishop

Hi everyone, i'm getting ready to start planning my stairs design but i'm no expert...so i thought i should ask for help ;)

I don't need nothing really wide, i was thinking at most 30", can i go smaller?.  i've attach a drawing with all the info provided i think. I'm not sure how to calculate the stairs with a landing (turn or winders?).

Any help is much appreciated!!!! and if you have any suggestions, let it rip!

Here's a pic of the opening

Sbishop

icolquhoun

first some questions....then maybe some advice!!! ;)
you show a circle designating a woodstove being in the same "bay" as where the stairs will go.  Will this be a doublewalled insulated stovepipe or singlewall?  What's the recomended clearance on your stovepipe to anything burnable?
What does code dictate as far as width, rise and run?
how much space from the floor to the bottom of the windowsills shown in your pic?  that can influence where a landing might go, since it's often done, but not pretty to cover a window with your staircase.
How much room do you need around the woodstove at the first floor level?  That can dictate where your stairs go/start from.

One piece of advice is unless you want to overly complicate things, i'd shy away from winders, although i just finished a set in my house (with housed stringers), i don't think i'd tackle them again, and I'm fairly comfortable with fine finish carpentry.  everything has to be PERFECT in the winder section of steps.  level/plumb/square in all three dimensions or huge gaps will open everywhere, where normal stairs aren't as picky.  One last thing with winders is when making the treads from solid wood, they move A LOT, which means no matter how nicely you finish them, gaps will open and they will creak on you over the seasons.