iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

skip tooth ripping chain

Started by plantman, March 15, 2017, 11:33:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

plantman

I'm new to chainsaw milling and need to purchase a skip tooth ripping chain for a 880 stihl. Wondering if anyone knows a good source for chains and has opinion on brand ?

Jesper Jepsen

Normally I would go with Stihl chains but I don't know if they make skip ripping chain. Another possibility is the Granberg ripping chain which is a modified ripping chain with the with of every second cutter cut down to keep chain speed up. Im running it at my 36" bar with a MS661 an even in oak it have no problem chewing though.
https://granberg.com/product/g730-3-404-pitch-063-gauge/

Jesper

HolmenTree

All the ripping chains that I know of on the market are modified semi chisel chain. In Oregon .404 is the 27 series, Stihl 46RM series.
I prefer chisel chain and I do mill with a Stihl full skip .404 (46RSF) chisel chain. I file the top plate at 10° angle, but when the cutters are new I don't file the whole 30° top back to 10° wasting alot of cutter. You only have the file the working corner to 10° within only about half the width of the cutting edge to mill effectively .
Better yet find some Stihl 46RSFL chisel bit ground chain which is already pre ground at approximately 15° top plate angle which would only take a little filing to get it to 10° with a 7/32" round file.
Ideally if you can accurately file this chisel bit with its intended file that's the best way to go.
Square ground chisel chain mills much better then round filed.

Making a living with a saw since age 16.

plantman