iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Question about bandsaw blades, hardening, and tempering...

Started by StephenRice, September 03, 2010, 08:31:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

StephenRice

Hello again everybody.  Newbie Stephen from NW Florida here again.

First of all, let me say how grateful I am that Woodmizer's web site turned me onto this forum!  I am blown away by the treasure trove of great information here.  Not only am I new to this forum, but I am also new to this industry, so I look forward to absorbing all of the knowledge I can from all of the experienced members here from all over.

Advanced Disclaimer
-- With the above in mind, I am fairly reluctant to even make this post.  PLEASE, everyone, do not take anything I say here personally as a slight or anything like that.  I pray that nobody is offended, because that is definitely not my intent.  That is why I have posted this in a new topic rather than in anyone else's thread.

Now, my question is in regards to the hardening and tempering of bandsaw blades.  Like I said, I am a complete newbie in this field.  I do not even have my own mill yet.  So, please take what I say with a grain of salt. 

Nonetheless, I have noticed a lot of people talking about how the cutting tips of new blades are harder than the metal underneath them, saying how much softer the tips are after the blades have been sharpened a number of times.  Some have seemed to have linked this with the idea that they have removed all of the tempered materials that were thought to be harder and now are sharpening into the softer parts of the blade.  I think that this is a common misconception as to the effects of the hardening and tempering process.