iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

need help choosing blade type

Started by dirtmotor, February 07, 2017, 08:30:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dirtmotor

Ok , I am a newbie to this forum and to band saw mills , I bought a used Oliver mill which works great but Mr. Oliver never made a owners manual for his mills , any how its time to order some blades and there seems to be a lot of options out there , its a 20 hp manual mill and the blades that came with it are 1 1/4 x 7/8 x 45 thick I cut mostly green red and white oak is this the correct blade or do I need to go with a 1 14 x 3/4 x 42 ?

4x4American

It's trial and error if you ask me...I see alot of guys on those small mills run .042" blades.  I think the reason is the small band wheels they want maximum flex life (and the thinner the blade, less material being
removed, less hp used).  I don't know about the 3/4" tooth spacing, again, it's trial and error.  7/8" pitch is most common on sawmills, whereas resaws run 1/2" or so for a smoother cut. 
Boy, back in my day..

terrifictimbersllc

Don't know about performance differences between the configuration you give but would think that tooth/gullet shape in either one would make more difference than switching between the two.  I would settle on only one of the two configurations you name, giving weight to blade cost, availability in different tooth styles, and ease of getting resharpened.

I have only used  Wood-Mizer 045 x 7/8 x 1-1/4 blades, in different tooth styles.  Red oak is very forgiving but I choose either 7 or 10 degree blades to cut it.   On the other hand I always do best with white oak using a 4 degree blade.  There is something very good about the white oak/4 degree blade combination on my mill.   My mill is 42HP, so your results might vary.