iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need some opinions on putting in a slab for a building

Started by Jeff, April 05, 2014, 09:34:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bricklayer51

Will the building be sitting on the slab, or the slab on the inside of the walls?

Jeff

I've not determined the method of construction yet. I just know when the time comes that I'm at the point I'm able to do swing it, I want the site prepared before hand as much as possible.  For now, that means the trees and stumps gone and possibly the grade set. My main focus is taking care of these things when the possibility of oak wilt infection is at the very lowest. I have predominantly oaks here and would not want to see them wiped out.
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

scsmith42

Quote from: kczbest on April 05, 2014, 04:34:50 PM
Jeff, I am a contractor by trade and I recommend that you NEVER leave any organic matter under a foundation. Anything organic under your slab will not be preserved but will rot and cause you problems. Also the "fiber" used by most concrete batch plants is not rated to replace remesh wire. Google "Strux 90/40". It is the only fiber that I am aware of that can replace wire in a foundation. In the grand scheme of things it wouldn't cost much more to do wire and Strux 90/40. Here in Mississippi the Strux 90/40 costs about $8 per yard more than the worthless cheap fiber mixes. Just my opinion but if it is worth doing it is worth spending a little extra to get it right the first time.

^^^^ I concur about organic matter removal (stumps, topsoil, roots) and not depending upon fiber to replace metal reinforcement. Would also recommend mechanical grade compaction and a low slump concrete mix when you pour...
Peterson 10" WPF with 65' of track
Smith - Gallagher dedicated slabber
Tom's 3638D Baker band mill
and a mix of log handling heavy equipment.

Jeff