iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

where to get a load of logs

Started by JamieT, April 21, 2014, 09:15:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamieT

Ok guys, ive called lumber yards and tree companies in my area trying to get a load of logs  with no luck. The few that were willing to sell me anything were in the 10-15 inch wide range and only pine! I need logs! Not match sticks.... can anyone help? Or tell me a good starting point to locating a useful load?
Learned just about everything I know, from the greatest man ive ever known. My father! Everything else was self taught thru the school of HARD KNOCKS ;-)

sealark37

Go to the local truck stop and look for log trucks.  Talk to the driver and go from there.  In your neck of the woods, most timber cutters are working for a specific customer or mill.  Find a cutter that is willing to cull a load to meet your specs and deliver to you.  You will have to pay more than the mill.  Cash is the norm.  Do what you promise.  Regards, Clark

Amelia Farms

I saw part time and make lumber mostly for my own needs, sell a little on the side. Talk to tree service guys in your area. It takes time to develop a relationship and educate them on what you want. If you have equipment to pick up the logs, that makes a huge difference. You have to be there when they need the logs gone and be reliable.

It took about 2 years for me to find tree service guys that would work with me and realized what a decent saw log is. Right now I have about 200 logs in my yard. I have not paid for a one of them, other than the time and effort to pick some of them up.

If you are sawing for a living, this won't work of course as you never know when you will have logs available. But if you are doing it part time or as a hobby, it just might work.

Oh, and all yard trees are NOT full of metal. Of the hundreds of yard logs I have sawed, I think I have hit metal a total of 3 times.

Good luck.
Woodmizer LT40, wish it was hydraulic.

Magicman